David Borden Teams with Dan Lopatin, Laurel Halo, James Ferraro, & Sam Goden on RVNG Intl. LP

Brooklyn's RVNG Intl. doesn't just pay lip service to music as ongoing dialogue between past and present; it unites the pioneers of yore with their contemporary admirers, and facilitates that dialogue in the literal sense. Earlier this year, the label recruited an all-star line-up of millennial synth revivialists to remix the entirety of Harald Grosskopf's 1980 Synthesist LP and perform alongside him as he recreated the album in full at NYC's Unsound Festival. Through its long-running FRKWYS 12" series, RNVG has also facilitated collaborations between The Psychic Ills and Juan AtkinsExcepter, Chris Carter, and Cosey Fanni Tutti; and more recently, Julianna Barwick and DNA's Ikue Mori. For Volume 7, the imprint brought minimalist composer David Borden together with Dan Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never, Ford & Lopatin) at Atlantic Sound Studio in DUMBO for two days of straight jamming in August 2010. Laurel Halo, James Ferraro, and New York composer and sound designer Samuel Godin rounded out the group into a full-on synth ensemble, and the tapes were edited down into a limited edition 12". "People of Wind," part two of which you can hear below, is one of the calmer, earlier takes in a session that eventually culminated in a "Fourth World Freak Out." --Emilie Friedlander, Altered Zones

Borden, Ferraro, Godin, Halo & Lopatin: "People of the Wind Pt. 2"

FRKWYS VOL. 7: BORDEN, FERRARO, GODIN, HALO & LOPATIN comes in CD and LP formats, and is available for pre-order now via RVNG Intl.

Most Liked All Time
International Tapes Transparent
Visitation Rites 20 Jazz Funk Greats
Don't Die Wondering Friendship Bracelet
Get Off the Coast Gorilla vs Bear
Raven Sings the Blues Rose Quartz
The Decibel Tolls Weekly Tape Deck
Yours Truly
Latest Mix
Zoned In
Out There
Send me your track
Contact Us